How to Become a Visual Thinking Expert

Within the previous post we discussed the four stages of competence that you will pass through as you move through the process of visual thinking. Today I would like to expand on this discussion by outlining the five phases of visual thinking mastery.

I have renamed these phases in order to stay consistent with the analogy of magic that we will continue to work with as we move through the elements of visual thinking.

The five phases that you will naturally pass through as you move through the visual thinking process are:

  • The Rookie (novice)
  • The Apprentice (beginner)
  • The Magician (competent)
  • The Wizard (proficient)
  • The Sage (expert)

Let’s now break down each of these five phases in a little more detail.

Phase 1: The Visual Thinking Rookie: Novice

As a visual thinking Rookie, you don’t have much experience with using visual thinking elements and tools in your life or business. You’re simply aware of what visual thinking is about and have a very basic knowledge (textbook understanding) of some of the concepts, but don’t yet have any real practical experience using and incorporating visual thinking principles into your life.

Having very little knowledge and lacking situational experience, you adhere to a very rigid structure based on rules and outlines that you have been taught. Moreover, you lack discretionary judgement, meaning that you don’t yet have the confidence or flexibility to adapt the visual thinking principles to your own needs and circumstances.

Finally, in order to gain results from the process of visual thinking you need close supervision and instruction, without which you will lose motivation and direction.

Continue reading How to Become a Visual Thinking Expert

Mastering the Process of Visual Thinking

The process of mastering any new skill or subject area takes time, requires patience and self-discipline, and a deep commitment to the end goal — supported by a solution focused resilient attitude that knows no bounds.

When it comes to visual thinking, it’s unpractical to expect that you will become proficient and fully knowledgeable immediately — or only after a short period of time. Learning is a process that takes time and dedication. However, it is something that will reward you in a multitude of ways in the future.

Today I would like to help you better prepare your mind for the process of learning how to think visually. As such, we will go through the stages that you will most likely move through as you begin your journey towards becoming a visual thinking magician.

The Four Stages of Competence

Within the next post I will discuss the five stages of your journey towards mastering the process of visual thinking. However, first and foremost I think it’s important to make mention the four stages of competence — originally developed at the Gordon Training International by Noel Burch during the 1970s.

These stages of competence provide a model that explains the four distinct stages of learning that lead us to the successful mastery of a particular skill or area under study.

The four stages are categorized as follows:

  • Unconscious Incompetence
  • Conscious Incompetence
  • Conscious Competence
  • Unconscious Competence

Here is a brief description of each stage and how it relates back to the process of visual thinking.

Continue reading Mastering the Process of Visual Thinking